Altenburger Pergament und Trommelfell GmbH

Business

In 1882, under his own name, Conrad August founded the Altenburg “Pergament & Trommelfell” GmbH (Parchment & Drumhead Inc.) which is still in existence today. The basis for this was the fact that the Altenburg Garrison and the company “Wunderlich Pauken” (Wonderous Timpani) were located in Altenburg.

In 1905, his sons Ernst and Paul took equal parts in the company.

In 1913 worldwide export began and the company was incorporated in the commercial register as “Brothers Conrad” formerly “A. Conrad.”

In 1929, division of the aforementioned company occurred between Ernst and Paul Conrad. Besides producing drumheads, Paul Conrad began to produce leather, while Ernst Conrad upheld tradition and continued to produce parchment and drumheads.

In 1930, despite the economic crisis, Ernst Conrad continued to expand export. Overseas clients and many European countries became customers in Altenburg. Parchment production was on the upswing due to the fact that book binders, furniture, clock and lamp manufacturers had begun to appreciate high-quality material once again. The material was found to be useful in interiors as well. In 1932, the ceiling of the Stuttgart city hall was covered with our parchments. By the beginning of World War II, the company had expanded to 20 employees.

The Second World War destroyed all previously existing connections. Raw materials became scarce and the staff was reduced due to the war. Under difficult conditions production resumed in 1945. By 1950 the need for drumheads in Germany could be met again.

Following the death of Ernst Conrad in 1960, almost all economic relations had been restored and his children, Rudolf and Karl Conrad stepped in to fill his shoes.

In 1963, the U.S. introduced plastic drumheads onto the market. The Altenburgers developed a completely different product from the one produced in United States and therefore remained independent on the market. Due to the high demand for plastic heads, a second smaller factory was created in Altenburg. Export expanded to the former USSR, Cuba, China, Korea, Vietnam and other socialist states.

In 1972, the expropriation of the company occurred under the control of the GDR. The management of the company was kept in the hands of Rudolf Conrad.

In 1975, after 93 years of operation, the government in power and the internal rules of affairs managed to make the company history . In 1978, due to illness, Rudolf Conrad left his operation. His brother Karl left as well. From then on, “planned economy” was in control until the end of the GDR in 1989. Consequently, a trust took over management until the company could be sold.

In 1993, after careful negotiations with the trust, a married couple, the Kotzenbergs, acquired the operation and installed a long-time employee, Mrs. Kerbs, as CEO. The stance of the couple on this ancient trade was ultimately responsible for the purchase and maintenance of the business. From then on, keeping with the philosophy of the founder, the company was eased back to the old hand craft and led by economic success.

Altenburger Pergament und Trommelfell GmbH

Unternehmen

1882 gründet August Conrad unter seinem Namen die heute noch bestehende Altenburger Pergament & Trommelfell GmbH. Der Gründungsursprung entstand durch die Tatsache, dass Altenburg Garnisonsstadt und die Firma "Wunderlich Pauken" in Altenburg ansässig waren.

1905 übernahmen seine Söhne Ernst und Paul zu gleichen Teilen die Firma.

1913 begann der Export weltweit und die Firma wurde ins Handelsregister unter dem Namen " Gebrüder Conrad vorm. A Conrad " aufgenommen.

1929 Teilung der o.g. Firma in Paul und Ernst Conrad. Paul Conrad stellt jetzt neben Trommelfellen auch Lederarten her, während Ernst Conrad die Tradition aufrecht hielt und weiter Pergamente und Trommelfelle produzierte.

1930 baut Ernst Conrad trotz Wirtschaftskrise den Export aus. Kunden aus Übersee und vielen europäischen Staaten werden Kunde in Altenburg. Die Pergamentherstellung nahm einen immer größeren Aufschwung, da Buchbinder- Möbel-Uhren und Lampenhersteller das Material als hochwertigen Werkstoff wieder schätzten. Auch für den Innenausbau wurde das Material wieder entdeckt; so wurde z.B. 1932 die Decke des Stuttgarter Rathauses mit unseren Pergamenten verkleidet. Bis zu Beginn des zweiten Weltkrieges vergrößerte sich die Firma auf 20 Mitarbeiter.

Der zweite Weltkrieg zerstört alle angeknüpften Verbindungen, Rohmaterial wurde immer knapper und auch die Mitarbeiter wurden kriegsbedingt weniger. Unter schwierigsten Bedingungen wird die Produktion 1945 wieder aufgenommen. Der Bedarf an Trommelfellen kann bereits 1950 für Deutschland wieder gedeckt werden.

Bis zum Tode von Ernst Conrad 1960 werden fast alle wirtschaftlichen Beziehungen wieder hergestellt und die Söhne Rudolf und Karl Conrad treten in seine Fußstapfen.

1963 kommt in den USA das Plastiktrommelfell auf den Markt. Die Altenburger entwickeln ein völlig anderes von den USA abweichendes Produkt und sind daher unabhängig in der Vermarktung. Durch die hohe Nachfrage an Plastikfellen kommt ein zweites kleines Werk in Altenburg dazu. Der Export weitet sich auf die damalige UdSSR, Kuba, China, Korea, Vietnam und alle anderen sozialistischen Staaten aus.

1972 kam es zur Enteignung der Firma durch die DDR. Die Leitung der Firma blieb vorerst in den Händen von Rudolf Conrad.

1975 schaffte es die damalige Regierung und die herrschenden innerbetrieblichen Zustände, dass nach 93 Jahren eine Firmengeschichte zu Ende ging und Rudolf Conrad verlies seinen Betrieb wie auch sein Bruder Karl krankheitsbedingt 1978. Von da an regierte Planwirtschaft bis zum Ende jener Ära 1989. Ab diesem Zeitpunkt übernahm die Treuhand bis zum Verkauf die Leitung.

1993 erwarb nach sorgfältigen Verhandlungen der Treuhand das Ehepaar Kotzenberg den Betrieb und setzte die damals langjährige Angestellte Frau Kerbs als Geschäftsführerin ein. Die Einstellung des Ehepaares zu diesem alten Gewerk war letztlich ausschlaggebend für den Kauf und Erhalt des Betriebes. Von diesem Zeitpunkt an wird im Sinne des Gründers der Firma wieder das alte Handwerk gepflegt und mit wirtschaftlichem Erfolg geführt.